2019 Textbook Awards Nominations Now Closed. Winners Will Be Announced Feb. 22

Nominations for the 2020 Textbook Excellence Awards ("Texty"), McGuffey Longevity Awards ("McGuffey") and Most Promising New Textbook Awards will be open September 1 to November 1, 2019.

2018 Textbook Award Winners

For more than 20 years, TAA has supported textbook and academic authors through these highly-recognized awards, given annually to emerging and veteran published authors in eight subject categories.

Textbooks and learning materials can be nominated by authors or publishers. The awards are open to members and non-members. Works are judged by textbook authors and subject matter experts for their merits in four areas:

  • Pedagogy
  • Content/Scholarship
  • Writing
  • Appearance & Design

Each entry is judged on its own merit in these four areas regardless of other nominations in the same field or category. Self-published books and e-books are welcome.

View the 2018 Textbook Award Winners | Media Kit | Photos from the 2018 TAA Textbook Awards Ceremony

For more information about these awards, including how to nominate your works, click on the specific awards below.

McGuffey Award logo
McGuffey Longevity Award "McGuffey"

The William Holmes McGuffey Longevity Award ("McGuffey") recognizes textbooks and learning materials whose excellence has been demonstrated over time. Learn more


Textbook Excellence Award logo
Textbook Excellence Award "Texty"

TAA's Textbook Excellence Award ("Texty") recognizes excellence in current textbooks and learning materials. Learn more


Most Promising New Textbook Award Logo
Most Promising New Textbook Award

The Most Promising New Textbook Award recognizes excellence in 1st edition textbooks and learning materials. Learn more

powered by MemberClicks